top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKara Squire

Journaling

Updated: Aug 6, 2021

One of the most effective ways I’ve found to cope is to write about what is going on in my head. It helps to pull those thoughts out and ink them into the real world. I can examine them and think them through a little better. There are various studies about journaling or writing that show that it helps with mental health and I’ve had counselors suggest it to me in the past so I know it works. Here are some tips to help you out.


Where to start? Get a journal. While a fancy new journal is a great way to start out, sometimes a good old spiral notebook can do the trick just fine. Don’t stress out too much about what you write as you start.


Something that I find helpful is to use journal prompts. When I’m in a rut or I just want to write but nothing interesting is going on in my life, I’ll just find a prompt I like (Pinterest and Google have hundreds of prompts) and write about it. These prompts can help you to get into the habit of turning to your journal for help.


Don’t be afraid to only write a few sentences. Even if it’s just, “Today was the worst.” Or “I’m so sad.” Getting those out on the page will help you even if it doesn’t seem like it.

Sometimes it doesn’t help. Yes. I said it. Sometimes what you are dealing with it so much bigger than what you can write down. And that’s okay. You can always try a different method of coping after or instead of journaling.


Use fun office supplies. If you want. I have an unhealthy addiction to office supplies (pens, markers, stickers, bujo supplies…) so I have tons of stuff I can use. if you aren’t a office supply scavenger and hoarder, check out a dollar store stationary section. They have tons of stickers and art supplies and you don’t have splurge on supplies. It helps me disconnect from the harsh reality of what I am going through sometimes. It’s an option.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page