top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKara Squire

What Makes You Happy?

Photo credit: Matthew Henry

I have a strong tendency to be sad. It’s not my favorite emotion and I’d rather hide it but it’s part of life. I fully accept that. I just wonder, sometimes, what makes other people happy. I asked some qualified experts (aka my friends) what makes them happy.

Some of their answers:

  1. Cuddles

  2. Rain

  3. Books

  4. Magic and fantasy

  5. Friends and family

  6. Helping people

  7. Chocolate/Candy

  8. Food

  9. Music

  10. Seeing/appreciating my own growth

  11. Connecting with others

  12. Owning something for a long time

  13. Smacking cranberry juice

  14. Being able to see the beauty underneath a person’s name and face

  15. Being comfortable enough to talk nonstop nonsense to someone

  16. A friendship rock

  17. A set of tools that is still complete

  18. The feeling of accomplishing a task

  19. Cute things I do with my significant other

  20. Video games

Photo credit: Antevasin Nguyen

My Answers:

  1. Creating (writing/doodling/designing)

  2. Puns

  3. Stories (books/movies/plays)

  4. Stars/Space

  5. Connections (patterns/friends/family)

  6. Color

  7. Music

  8. Words

  9. Dogs

  10. Water (bodies of/rain)

  11. Helping others

  12. Memories

  13. Baking Cookies

Photo Credits: Kelly Sikkema

It helps me sometimes to physically list out these things to remind me that not all of life is dark and heavy. Some of it quite beautiful. I’m not saying that these things always magically make me happy but they do help.

What makes you happy?

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Journaling

One of the most effective ways I’ve found to cope is to write about what is going on in my head. It helps to pull those thoughts out and ink them into the real world. I can examine them and think them

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page